Tuesday, April 7, 2015

Proud to Be Part of the Class of 2015 ATHENAS

Anchorage Chamber of Commerce Anchorage ATHENA Society  -  Nominations for Anchorage ATHENA Society members are solicited from the community at large. Inductees are selected based on the recognition of their outstanding leadership and excellence in their business or profession, their community service outside of job requirements and that they are known for assisting women to reach their full leadership potential. They must also be an Anchorage resident. The nominations are screened by selection committee comprised of past award Recipients.

Pictured are the 2015 Class of inductees to the Anchorage ATHENA Society, along with Leadership Award winner Carolyn E. Jones. Our smiles were contagious following the luncheon at the Dena'ina Convention Center on Monday in our honor that celebrated the amazing energy and accomplishments from each of these women! I was not only proud but a bit emotional as I learned what each of these empowering women have done not only locally, regionally but globally I realized that I can continue to do more with my life to mentor and pay it forward. Back row from left to right: Dr. Robyn Rehmann, Cindy Shake (me!), Carolyn E. Jones (not only was she the Keynote Speaker but was surprised to be named the 2015 ATHENA of the Year!), Alison E. Kear, and Jackie Purcell. Front row from left to right: Barbara A. Jones, Stephanie Kesler, Kristi Acuff, Julie Hasquet, Hilary Morgan. Special THANK YOU to Jana Hayenga, (The Quilted Raven and Cabin Fever)  2014 Anchorage ATHENA Society Leadership Award Recipient who nominated me and continues to inspire and support others.

1 comment:

Patricia Griffin Ceramics said...

Bravo Cindy! What an honor, and so well-deserved.